Aswan Museum
 
 
 

 


  

In 1912, an old rest house on the southern tip of Elephantine Island was converted into a museum. Expanded in the 1990s, the museum boasts a collection that focuses on the history of Aswan and Nubia. The displays include mummies, weapons, pottery, utensils, and statues. Outdoors, a garden leads into the ruins of Abu, the pharaonic settlement on the island. Labels are in Arabic and English.

HOURS OF OPERATION:
Open daily, 8:00 AM-5:00 PM
9:00 AM-3:00 PM during Ramadan

TICKET COST:
General Admission: (Ticket includes both museum and ruins)
Egyptian: LE 2 (LE 1, students)
Foreign: LE 25 (LE 15, students)
Student rates available to bearers of a valid student ID from an Egyptian University or an International Student ID Card (ISIC)

LOCATION:
Next to the Nilometer, Elephantine Island, Aswan

DIRECTIONS:
Visitors can take the free Aswan-Oberoi ferry from the center of town to the island.

FACILITIES:
Bookstore
The museum is not wheelchair accessible.
Guides are not provided, but a guidebook in English, German, and Arabic that includes explanations of the monuments in the ruins of Abu is available for purchase at the museum.

CONTACT INFO:
Phone: (097) 302-066

NO PHOTOGRAPHY ALLOWED.

[CAPTION]

Exterior of the Aswan Museum (SCA Archives)

 
[CAPTION]

Interior of the Aswan Museum (SCA Archives)